Valentine’s Day

Image result for heartbroken

I’ve never celebrated Valentine’s Day. I’ve never had the satisfaction of receiving a spontaneous gift to show love and express. Is it ironic or bad timing that each time I have had a boyfriend, we never seemed to make it to Valentine’s Day? My first boyfriend. I was sixteen. We started dating in November. We broke up in January. My second boyfriend. I was seventeen going on eighteen. We started dating in August. We broke up in May. Right before my birthday. When I see men purchasing flowers, cards, and candy I can’t help but feel a pang of jealousy. I’ve never had a guy give me a gift that says, “I was thinking of you.”

What is Valentine’s Day to me? February 14th. Tuesday. The seventh week of the year.  Just another day. It’s like a Father’s Day to me. It’s something I don’t celebrate. Why don’t I celebrate Father’s Day? Because I never had a father figure in my life. My dad has not been around since I was born and every little effort he made was not enough. I never knew what it was like to have a father. That’s why I don’t celebrate. The same goes for Valentine’s Day. I’ve never had a boyfriend during that time. Why celebrate something that you don’t have? I’m hoping one day that will change. One day I will be able to celebrate these holidays I’m missing out on. I have hope that someone will change that.

 

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Valentine’s Day

  1. bexoxo says:

    I don’t think I really have to tell you this, but… it’s all over rated. Sure, it’s nice to share the day with someone, but you don’t need to. I know you will get there someday and you will have your moment of joy and subsequent moments of joy for years to come. Chin up my friend. Hope school is going well for you. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

