Coming Home

 

wp_20161219_07_51_45_pro

I know I haven’t been posting much since I’ve been in Kansas, but I have been spending a lot of time catching up with friends and families. Time sure flies. It feels like I just got here and I already have to leave. I wish I would have gotten to do everything that I initially had planned, but life happens.

Coming back to Kansas has made me realize a lot about myself and the people I surround myself with. I am so thankful for the people I have in my life that welcomed me back with open arms. They have helped me get to where I am today. However, there some people who I believe are in my life for a short time and seem purposeful at first, but try to steer you in the wrong direction. Those are the people I don’t mind leaving behind. My arrival has allowed me to see these people for me.

It feels foreign being here. I know that I have only been gone for only five months, but feels much longer. It’s not that everything is different; everything is relatively the same, but yet, it still feels different. Everyone asks me how I like it out here in Nevada and I always answer the same, “It’s fine.” I don’t know what to say. I’m getting used to it. I live there now. Many people ask me if I’m going to come back, but honestly, I don’t know. I feel I know the answer to that question, but I’m too afraid to admit to myself.

I’m much happier. Lots of people have told me how happy I look. I am. I feel like my life is going in the right direction. I love my job. I love the people I work with. I love how well school is going. I just overall love how everything is going. I feel like I have accomplished so much. It’s unfortunate that all these great things didn’t happen to me in Kansas, but maybe there was a reason I needed to leave. I still haven’t quite figured that out.

Coming back to Kansas has made me realize that this isn’t my home anymore. My home is in Nevada. Kansas will always have a special place in my heart, but Nevada is my home now.

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Coming Home

  1. TheOriginalPhoenix says:

    Beautifully expressed. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. bexoxo says:

    I love the end of this post! I know how hard it is to leave home and plant roots elsewhere. Good for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. M.Gin says:

    I hope you enjoy it more. Happy new year!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Glad you’re back home! But I completely agree, same goes for me coming home for the holidays. Everyone asks if we’re moving back and I really don’t have a definite answer for them. I’m so glad you’ve made Nevada your home and that it feels like home for you, because I know how hard that is when you move away. I don’t think I’ve achieved that feeling just yet. but hopefully soon! Happy New Year girl!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sarah says:

    Going home after being away for a while always puts a lot of things in perspective. I think you realise what was truly important. Glad you’ve had a great time back home

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Carl Schuler says:

    Thank goodness for Southwest, right? Do you have any landing or take-off video to post? My last take off video effort from McCarren never took. Disappointed! There’s always reason to be in Clark County, Nevada. Next time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

