Destruction of a Dream

Image result for tornado

The amount of stress I’ve been under has begun to affect my state of mind. I have three weeks of school left, but it feels like an eternity. It’s deeply affected my sleep habits.

I had this dream the other night. It was very unsettling because of how real it felt. I was in an unfamiliar building that felt like a hotel. There was an immaculate lobby, beautifully furnished with a grand spiral staircase that ascended in the middle of the room. I went up the stairs to find my room. What was strange about this hotel was there weren’t any doors on the rooms. You could see people laying on their beds, putting their items away and watching television. I found my room, number 9B or 98 (I can’t recall because of how distorted it looked). I laid on my bed and turned on the TV, which is when a emitted tone came on to announce that there would be a tornado. I looked at my window and I could see a black funneled mass, no more than a few miles away. In Kansas, tornados were not a common occurrence and they weren’t foreign either. I decided to run for cover, to find a basement. I down the stairs to the lobby, watching the tornado grow closer. I tried to alert everyone to find cover, but no one was listening to me. I yelled. I screamed. No one would look my way. It was as if they couldn’t see the tornado that had blackened the sky. I grew frustrated that no one was listening so I grabbed the next person who walked past me. The man I grabbed looked me quizzically, “What are you talking about?”  I pointed the window, the black funnel growing closer. He said he didn’t see anything and continued on.

“I’ve got to wake up, I told myself. “This is a dream.”

My dream began to disintegrate and I woke up in my bed. I usually don’t understand my dreams, but this one was blatantly obvious. My world has been spiraling out of control and I am the only one who seems to notice it. The overwhelming stress I have been feeling has taken control of my life. It’s because I have so much to do and not enough time. This feeling shall pass.

 

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Destruction of a Dream

  1. TheOriginalPhoenix says:

    I’m like you and I can usually hear my own thoughts when I’m dreaming too. Best of luck with school, I’m on break this week but I was mega burnt out by Wednesday last week. I’m here to listen if you need anything 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m so burnt out. I have to much to do. This is the first time I’ve gotten a whole week off for thanksgiving. My transfer only gave us wednesday-Friday off. And of course with the break comes a massive amount of homework. It’s frustrating because the point of a break is to rest from school…

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

