People Change

Image result for people change people

I remember when I ran into an old friend when I was out and about running errands one day and I made the mistake of deciding to meet up with them again to “catch up.” As awkward as it was, I managed to sit through the idle conversation and forced smiles. It never really occurred to me why I was ever friends with her. She was never very nice to me. She liked to call me names and tell me I was stupid. I usually ignored her. Whenever I talked, she liked to interrupt me because whatever I had to say wasn’t important. When we were friends, I never really noticed this stuff, but now it was like a giant elephant in the room. I spoke up when she called me names. I politely reminded her that I didn’t get to finish my story when she interrupted. I noted the subtle shock she displayed when I spoke out.

“Don’t take this the wrong way, but you’re kind of a bitch now,  she said. I was thinking the same thing, quite frankly. Actually, she was always a bitch.

That was her way of telling me that I changed. I was a bitch because I finally had the courage to stand up for myself. When we were friends, I had the worst self-esteem. Our friendship was one-sided. I feel that she was the only one that benefitted from it. When she said mean things to me, I thought this was how a friendship was supposed to be, but I was wrong. Friends don’t put each other down and make them feel like they are not worthy.

I am not the same fragile person I was when we met. I know how to stand up for myself because I know my worth. Some people change for the better and some people change for the worst. I believe I have changed for the better. I don’t know what’s worse, seeing that the person you used to be friends with changed or seeing that the person you used to be friends hadn’t changed at all.

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Life, Memories, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to People Change

  1. So True. If a person gets hurt with someone or something, it remains like an elephant in their memory and They Change themselves to Survive the Future.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Accidentally Single says:

    I’m proud of you for speaking up. Many friendships we’ll outgrow as we as individuals evolve.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I used to have similar friends as well and thought the same thing, that it was normal. I’m so happy that you stood up to her and put her in her place.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jadecostello says:

    PREACH! People forget that they need to know their worth in relationships -and- friendships!
    This just shows that you have grown and adapted and benefited as a result, whereas she’s still stuck in her old ways. Which I think is a little sad.
    Good for you though! 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Well if your friend was an arse to begin with, and they haven’t changed, it’s sad. If your friend was great before, and they changed, it’s sad. At any rate, I’m so PROUD of you for standing up for yourself! You deserve a friend who cares about and loves you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Such a good read! I know exactly what you’re feeling. When you see someone you used to be great friends with and you just don’t see them in the same way as you did before. I think being able to speak your mind and stand up for yourself proves you’ve changed for the better. And if someone is threatened by that, they have some growing up to do!

    Liked by 1 person

    • She really does and I feel that unfortunately, she will never change… She’s always been that mean girl that puts others down just to make herself feel better. People like that always need to feel like they are better than everyone or what’s the point.

      Like

  7. PTcontender says:

    Good for you!! I was the same way when I was younger and just recently realized I need to keep my inner circle close :)) –jess

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

