What is the Most Important Thing in Your Life?

Image result for college

Ask someone this question and you will know more about them and why it is they get up every day. A married couple would probably say their kids, a teenager would probably say their cell phone and a three-year-old would probably say their favorite Teddy bear. If you were to ask me, I would say that my education is the most important thing in my life.

Growing up, school was a burden. Elementary school was pretty great, junior high was okay and high school was just fine, but I wish I would have taken it more seriously near the end. I remember when I found an old journal from junior high that I used to write in religiously. I wrote an entry about how I hoped that I would be smart enough to go to college. My self-esteem wasn’t all that great back then, but despite all that I, I did what I deemed impossible.

My first-year-old college was difficult for me. I was enrolled in classes that I hated, I didn’t know anyone and I still lived at home. I made the decision to live at home because I thought it wouldn’t be fair for me to live on campus when I live in town, while there are others who didn’t have that advantage. However, this hindered me from becoming involved and meeting new people. I think part of the reason why I didn’t do so well my first year was because I didn’t have a major chosen. I started to take my education a little more serious when I realized I knew what I wanted to do.

I chose my major in 2013 and I was excited to finally get started. I enjoyed all my classes, I made new friends and moved out to live with a roommate who would later become my best friend. Everything was finally getting better. I was able to raise my 2.0 GPA to a 3.5. All of this was so rewarding, but as I recall sometimes once things start going great, they have to start going bad.

I couldn’t get into my program of study after several attempts. I wanted to give up after the third attempt. I was beginning to run out of options and each time I was given one I would exhaust it. Soon, there was only one option that I could do, but it was something I never thought I would have to resort to. You can only go so far in my program of study and once you do, then you can’t take any more classes until you are officially admitted into the program. It was another roadblock. My advisor suggested I change my major. When she said this I wanted to cry because this was the only thing I wanted to do. I didn’t know what else I could do. I didn’t hear her correctly. She wanted me to change my major to an associate of my study, which wouldn’t require admission. All I needed was 10 more classes to fulfill this requirement.

I walked across the graduation stage in the spring of 2016. I was frustrated but proud. I was frustrated that after four years I was leaving this school with an associate, but I was proud that I had made it. I was determined that I would leave with a bachelor’s degree the next time I walk across a stage.

I know that many of my readers have been missing my daily posts and reflections on life, but since my education is the most important part of my life I have to make sacrifices. I love writing and I love blogging, but I have had to put blogging on the back-burner and focus on the school. The amount of school work has been overwhelming, but I’m managing. I have five more weeks until winter break, but I’m counting down the semesters until I can finally say I received my degree, no matter how long it takes. It’s the most important part of my life.

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Blogging, College, Life, Memories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What is the Most Important Thing in Your Life?

  1. Keep at it! I have enjoyed being present for at least some parts of your path and it has been a privilege to experience.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TheOriginalPhoenix says:

    I fully understand and you shouldn’t worry about us if education is the most important thing in your life. Do what’s right for you! Education is the most important thing in my life right now too because it’s a bridge to my dreams 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

