What If

 

Image credit: IMDB

 

Have you ever watched a movie and after seeing that movie it has stuck with you for the rest of your life? That happened when I watched the movie Mr. Nobody. It’s an  independent international film about a man named Nemo Nobody who recounts his life to a reporter. The film takes place in the year 2092, everyone is immortal except for Nemo; he is last man alive to have been born a mortal. Because of this, he is being interviewed by a reporter about key points in his life. He begins his story with a decision. He has to decide between living with his mother and father. What is confusing about his story is that he tells of alternate life paths, which are the result of a decision. The premise of the movie is how a decision can positively and negatively affect your life.

The reasons I am bringing this up is because at some point in our lives we have wondered how our lives would have played out if we had chosen a different path. Part of me wishes, like Nemo, that we were able to see the alternatives. Maybe if we could, we would do a better job at making difficult decisions. I’ve made a few big decisions in my life and, for the most part, I have been satisfied with the results. However, I have always wondered what would have happened if I would have picked the other option.

The biggest decision I have ever made was the decision to move to Nevada. I will admit that I made this decision in a haste. It was September of last year. I wasn’t happy with the direction of my life. Anything and everything was going wrong and I was trying my best to remain positive. In that state, I decided it would be in my best interest to leave. I have often wondered what life would have been like if I would have decided to stay.

Before I left, I was offered a job. A job that I have always wanted. I was only a temporary employee, but throughout the duration of my stay, I grew to love where I was placed. A few days before the end of my employment term, my boss asked if I wanted to stay on as a permanent employee. She was willing to work with my school schedule and asked what I would like to do. I felt awful when I had to tell that I politely decline because I was moving. She completely understood. Part of my wonders what my life would be like if I would have been able to take the job. I haven’t been able to find one like it here.

I have talked about my relationship with B quite frequently. My complicated relationship that I couldn’t seem to stay away from. I told myself that I wouldn’t talk to him when left. When I broke that promise, I told myself I wouldn’t come back to visit. When I broke that promise, I made a promise to him. A promise to remain faithful to him and he would do the same. I never stopped loving him. Since I have left, we have talked quite a bit. I didn’t want to be the first one to say that I missed him, but when he did I couldn’t help but confide my feelings as well.  I’ve always wondered if I would have decided to stay, would he have changed his ways? Was me moving a wake-up call?

As much as I focus on the bad, there has been some good that has come from this decision to move. If I would not have moved, I would have had to take an extra year off of school. In order for me to get into my program of study, I would have to pass a test and after several attempts, I have not been able to. Here, I have some leeway before I have to take the test again. Another thing, school is cheaper. It is 3/4 less than I would be paying if I would have stayed at my transfer school. I wish there was more good that I could think of from this decision, but I can’t think anything at the moment.

Referring back to what I stated in the begin. If I could play out my decisions like Nemo Nobody did, then believe I wouldn’t regret so many of the decisions I have made. This being one of them. Don’t make big decisions when you’re overcome with emotion because you might think differently in a few months.

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What If

  1. I love without regrets. What’s done is done, that’s how I see it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I meant I live without regrets but I guess love works too

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice advice given by you !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

