A Humble Reminder

When I was in high school, everyone had a car. It was a status symbol among the students at my high school. If you had a car, you were someone. If you had a nice car, then you were well liked and popular. I didn’t have a car. My mother dropped me off at school every day and if I woke up late, I had to walk. Since my mother worked late, I had to walk home from school. It was about a thirty-minute walk. What frustrated me the most about walking was that when a “friend” would see me walking, they would honk and wave. I was never offered a ride from them, even if they were traveling in the same direction as me. It’s not that I wanted a ride all the time, but it would have been nice for someone to be considerate enough to have offered when it was below zero and there was a few inches of snow on the ground.

I didn’t get a car until spring of my senior year of high school. I worked most of the summer, saved up $4000, and purchased my car in full with cash. I was proud of myself for such an accomplishment. From what I have learned, a lot the students I went to school with didn’t actually pay for their cars; their parents did. It’s proven that teens that pay for their own cars are less likely to get into an accident than those that don’t.

I remember struggling for a while when I was living on my own. I had just quit a job because of the hostile work environment and the new job that I took offered less money, but the same amount of hours. I was perpetually broke. I had enough money for bills, but not enough for food. I never thought I would have to think about where my next meal would come from. It got to the point where I had to decide, which meals I could skip and eventually to where I only could afford one meal a day. My school had a free food pantry for students and I would regularly visit. People would donate non-perishable food items for students. My diet consisted of Ramen and canned fruit.

10958402_1497987303833651_1455737729_n

I was finally able to get out of my “money troubles.”  I got a second job and, which helped me afford bills and groceries. It opened up more opportunities for me, which I gratefully accepted.

I remember my struggles because it is a reminder to remain humble. Whenever a friend asks me a for a ride, I always try and accommodate for them because I know what it’s like. I’ve been there. After I was finally able to get myself back on my feet, I paid a visit to the food pantry at my school and I gave back. I guess you can say, I gave back what I had taken. Struggling is a part of life and it makes you humble. Never forget where you came from or how you got to be where you are today.

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in College, Life, Memories and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Humble Reminder

  1. Sweta Ojha says:

    What a beautiful message! I appreciate your perspective. Stay blessed always! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loved the message… Awesome☺☺

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bexoxo says:

    I lived off of ramen and hotdogs the first year after I moved out of my parents and walked 1.5 miles to and from school everyday because I couldn’t afford a parking pass. I feel ya.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What an eye-opening post into your story and morales, I really enjoyed reading it! I agree that it’s always important to remember your roots and stay humble.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

