Four Years Ago…

Image result for calendar with x's

I received a troubling text from a friend the other day.

Her: Wanna know something awful? 

Me: What’s wrong?

Her: I got into a car wreck this morning and so did you four years ago.

I almost had forgotten, four years seems like a long time. I’m not sure what to think of this, it’s as if this is connected in some way. I had just bought my first car (with my own money) and in less than six months, I got into a wreck. They deemed it no one’s fault. Because of this, my anxiety while driving is at an all-time high.

Four years ago, I had just bought my first car (with my own money) and in less than six months, I got into a wreck. They deemed it no one’s fault. Because of this, my anxiety while driving is at an all-time high.

1087_4853809267489_1789110995_n

Four years ago, it was 2012. I had just graduated high school, I had just turned eighteen and I had just been accepted into my first choice college.

Four  years ago, I didn’t know what I wanted to go to school for. I decided to use my freshman year to test out different options. I wish I would have known what I wanted to do. I didn’t so well my freshman year because I hated all my classes, I didn’t know anyone and I just didn’t want to be at school. My GPA was 1.9.

399712_4561904490052_2068902419_n.jpg

Four years ago, I met my roommate Kat. We both has joined a club where we spent a lot of time together. We got to know each other very well. She’s one of my best friends today.

Four years ago, I was still friends with Meep. We had made a promise to remain friends after high school, but as most know, high school friendships don’t always last.

Four years ago, I got my first tattoo. It was a friendship tattoo that I decided to get with two of my best friends. It’s one of my favorites.

Four years ago, I began my relationship with B. I would have never thought that I would have maintained this relationship with him.

Four years ago, my family took our last trip to the pumpkin patch. The running joke in my family is that we have to get a green pumpkin. Why? Apparently, on my second trip to the pumpkin patch with my school (I was three), I brought home a green pumpkin and cried for days when it turned orange. The year before that, I brought home a squash (I was two).

verdi.jpg

Four years ago, I had my first waitressing job. I hated it. My boss was a jerk, the hours were shit and the tips weren’t enough to live off of. Oh, and I had to where a stupid bow tie. Because of this job, I have a respect for waitresses that most people don’t have.

483473_10200146138360586_1360124362_n

Four years ago, I still lived with my mom. My mother decided to downsize so we moved out of my childhood home, into an apartment. I was more than ready to get out. It was too cramped and I missed having the whole basement to myself.

Four years ago, I went to my first bar. I couldn’t drink because of  the X on my hand, but I still had a great time hanging out with friends.

Four years ago, gas was $3.00.

If I were to tell 2012 Me what was in store for her in four years, she probably wouldn’t believe me. I hate when people ask me these questions, “Where do you see yourself in five years?” or “What do you see for the future?” Because I don’t know. Life happens and what you want to see in five years is not always what’s going to happen. Here I am four years later. Nothing is what I would have guessed for myself. Not in a million years.

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Life, Memories, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Four Years Ago…

  1. I can feel your words!!😑

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TalkaholicMe says:

    Nostalgia.. lovely post but sorry about the car wreck

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tony Burgess says:

    A lot can happen in four years. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. TheOriginalPhoenix says:

    It’s amazing how much can change in four years. I mean I went into high school thinking I wouldn’t change so much but I’m never going to be the same after high school and I have the feeling it’s going to happen again thanks to university.

    Like

Leave a Reply

