October 11, 2014

Image result for las vegas strip

On this day, two years ago, I visited Las Vegas for the first time. It was my first time traveling alone as well as traveling to the West Coast. I had never been this far west. I was excited to finally travel for myself and not because I had to.

I was out of my comfort zone flying on my own. When my aunt dropped me off, she said not to be afraid to ask questions. I asked quite a bit because of how much was going on at the airport. The KCI airport I left from was small, not many people were there because it was early and Kansas rarely has anyone visit. Since I have moved here, I have been asked the question, “so what is in Kansas?” Literally, nothing. Last year when I flew here again to visit, as I was taking my flight to back Kansas and  we were landing some guy goes, “Hey there’s I-70!” Everyone groaned.

When I arrived at McCarren, I was overwhelmed, but also overjoyed. There were so many people, so many signs and lots of slot machines. They were everywhere. I got lost a few times. It took me a while to figure out that the baggage claim arrows meant that I was supposed to stay in the middle and not stray from the path. Thinking about now, it’s kind of funny.

I was visiting because my younger sister wanted to go to a concert and we decided to meet down there. I hadn’t seen her in over a year since she moved away. As I have mentioned before, my sister and I do not get along. I have many of stories of fights and disputes that we had, rather than actual times where we enjoyed our each other’s company.  However, distance had done us a favor and made closer. It seemed the further we were away from each other the better. I was nervous to be spending four days with her.

Day One

We went site seeing, walked up the Strip and visited a few shops. I wanted to take in everything, but my sister wanted to rush through. I would stop to take a picture and she tell me, “You’re such a tourist.”

When she said that, it made me feel awful. I didn’t take very many pictures after that. I didn’t get a chance to enjoy my time and soak up the experiences I gained.

Day Two    

We went to the mall to go shopping for the concert. This is when I noticed that my sister was not the same as I remember. She wanted to shop at stores that I had never heard like Urban Outfitters, Zara and Top Shop. As I was looking around, I noticed I really couldn’t afford some of the things in the store. She shopped on the sales rack, but it to me it felt like a waste. I tried to take her word and try it out. I hesitantly bought a shirt.

Day Three

We had a long drive to the concert so we spent a few hours in the car. My sister isn’t much of a small talker, she has always been someone that likes to hold a meaningful conversation.I grew frustrated when she kept “back seat driving.” She yelled at me when I almost an exit.

Well, you should have told me two miles back! Not at the last minute!”  

Traffic was heavy. Heavier than I’m used to, which made it difficult for me to merge lanes. We spent the rest of the car ride in silence.

The concert was great. We really didn’t have talk to each other.

Day Four

I snapped. We got into a fight on my last day. I was tired of her constant nagging and thinking she was better than everyone and above everything. It was as if Kansas was the worse part of her life and everyone there is stupid for staying. We didn’t speak for the rest of time.

It would be a month before I talk to her again. Since then, I have reminded myself that I will never be like her. I will never think I’m better than anyone. I will never forget where I came from. And I certainly will not talk to people the way she does. It’s as if she forgot. She forgot what she used to be. People change, I understand that, but some people don’t always change for the better. I wasn’t the same person I was a few years ago, but I believe I have changed for the better. My sister, on the other hand, changed for the worse.

I don’t know if we will ever truly get along with each other.

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Life, Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to October 11, 2014

  1. TheOriginalPhoenix says:

    I’m not liking this because your sister changed for the worse, I’m liking it because you changed for the better. Don’t worry about her, focus on you 🙂 and if she comes around, great. If not, great. Unfortunately, blood-related family isn’t always family.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s how I always feel sometimes. I love her, but some days I can’t stand her. Lol. She wouldn’t say that she has change, but she in fact has.

      Like

      • TheOriginalPhoenix says:

        And part of the reason people don’t realize they change is because they experience the change day by day, bit by bit, until they become someone new. However, they don’t notice the change because it happened so gradually that they were able to adjust to it day by day.

        Like

      • She’s also been working out a lot and keeps asking people if they see progress, which bugs the shit out of me. I used to work out heavily and lost like 20 lbs in five months. It took me months to realize something was changed. Everyone else around me noticed before I did, which is why I think she’s got those roze-colored glasses when it comes to change. She doesn’t seem to see it, but everyone else does.

        Like

      • TheOriginalPhoenix says:

        Just out of curiosity, why does it bother you that she asks others if they notice any change in her body? (Lol my dad’s obsessed with working out and that’s 75% of what he talks about. 20% is diet. 5% is everything else.)

        Like

      • Idk. It would be fine if she asked once a month or so, but every other day is annoying. It’s like she needs a compliment to feel better about herself. I don’t work out much anymore, but it wasn’t all I talked it about. Like I said, didn’t notice any change until about five months after.

        Like

      • TheOriginalPhoenix says:

        I think sometimes we have to accept that others have different needs than us. My brothers needs couldn’t be more different than mine and I’ve spent so many half hours arguing with him over that but it isn’t worth it. Spare yourself the mindshare. 🙂

        Like

      • We do and her constanly seeking compliments is something I will not do. She’s never given me a compliment, she always has to direct everything to herself. I just try my best to tolerate her.

        Like

      • TheOriginalPhoenix says:

        Ai she sounds a little narcissistic, I’m sorry you have someone like that so close to you. 😦 I’m proud of you for doing your best.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Narcissim doesn’t even begin to describe her. lol. It’s okay. I always do. Thanks for reading.

        Like

      • TheOriginalPhoenix says:

        You’re welcome 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah says:

    It’s funny how certain situations make us grow as people and realise that you don’t always have to get on with people just because you’re related to them

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

