A Test in a Relationship

Image result for hug crying

When I was nineteen, I had a pregnancy scare. This put my relationship with B through a harrowing test.

I have spoken about B before and most you know that we had a complicated agreement to strictly sleep with only each other, no strings attached. The arrangement made him happy and I was happy if he was happy. He’d text me when he needed and I did the same. It was a way for both of us to let off some pent up energy and de-stress.

It was about a week before midterms and I was more stressed than usual. My courseload was much heavier this semester. I was taking five classes, mainly major classes that were required for graduation. I put all of my time and energy in studying and when I wasn’t studying, I was working. I invested so much time in my school work that I completely had forgotten that I was supposed to start my period three weeks ago. I began to freak out. Why? Because ever since I was eleven years old, I have always been on time. Never early or late. I couldn’t tell B. We weren’t even together. I don’t even understand how it could have happened. We have always been careful.

When he invited me over one night, he knew I was being exceptionally cold. When he would ask me a question I would respond with one-word responses, I wouldn’t look him in the eye and when he would try to touch me I would flinch as if he were going to hit me. B was someone who doesn’t like to share his feelings, but he grew fed up with my behavior:

“What the hell is up with you? You’ve been acting weird all night.”  He blurted.

I continued to look at the floor, not answering his question.

He gently grabbed my chin, forcing me to look up to him. “You have to tell me what’s wrong. I can’t help you when you don’t tell me.” 

Tears started to fall down my cheek, my lip trembled and I began to sob. “I don’t want you to be mad at me.” 

“Just tell me what’s wrong.” 

“I’m late,”  I whispered .

His eyes widened. I felt as if the air had left the room; I couldn’t breath.

“Are you sure?” he asked

“Yes!” I yelled, “I’m bever late! I’m always on time. It’s been three weeks!”

He pulled me closer and hugged me tight. “Hey, we can do this. It’s okay. We’ll get through this. I love you.” 

At the time, we had had this agreement for over a year. He had never told me he loved me. I also had never met his parents. That changed that night. He was more excited than I was for the possibility of a child. He really loved children. I was less than thrilled because I was still in school, I had just moved out on my own and I was not financially ready for a child. The day I told him that everything would be okay and that we would not be having a child, it was as if I had punched him in the face. I could tell he was upset, but he said he fine.

This pregnancy scare tested our relationship. It showed me where we both stand when an event likes this takes place. I underestimated him. His reaction is what made me realize I loved him. I was more than just a girl he occasionally slept with by this point. Although I have moved, B and I still keep in contact with one another. It’s been four years since we made this arrangement and I can’t seem to throw away all the history that we share together. We’ve had few tests in our relationship: the pregnancy scare, the “break” we took from each other and now me moving away, but it does not stop us from loving each other. A test makes a relationship stronger.

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Life, Memories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Test in a Relationship

  1. Accidentally Single says:

    At least he was receptive. Trust me, some guys can be total jerks about it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

