Three Day Quote Challenge: Day 1

Three Day.png

For today’s quote challenge, I decided to pick my three favorite quotes from one of my favorite books. It’s my favorite because the writing is simply beautiful. It’s as if each sentence was carefully selected and hand-picked with care. This author paints a vivid picture to make you care for each character as if they were someone you knew personally. These quotes have stuck with me:

“It is so appropriate to color hope yellow, like that sun we seldom saw.”

The only way to hook me into a story is to have a captivating opening. The first sentence of a story is what I believe makes or breaks it. The first sentence needs to draw you in, instantly making you feel the need to read more. I remember when my mother first recommended me this book. I picked it up, not thinking much of it and read the first sentence. I wanted to know more. Why do they never see the sun? Why most hope be yellow?

“Love doesn’t always come when you want it to. Sometimes it just happens, despite your will.”

Despite the strong underlying theme in the story, this could never be any more true. Love is the one thing that we cannot control as much as we like to tell ourselves. I remember when I was in high school, I had sort of a crush on the neighbor boy. We had gone to junior high together but never spoke. We didn’t even find out that we were neighbors until freshman year when we took the same walking route home. From there our friendship developed quite steadily. We began to talk to each other every night until our unresolved feelings began to slowly bubble over. He professed his love for, but I never said anything back. I didn’t know what to say. Our “relationship” fizzled before it even began when he started talking to my friend Meep. She was aware that things happened between us, yet still thought it okay to ask me if was all right to date him. Without much hesitation, I agreed. We cannot help who we love, it just happens. It was no different than when I began to develop feelings for him.

” ‘–What we did just now-was it sinful?’

Again, he cleared his throat. ‘If you think it so, then it was.’ “

The underlying theme in the story is loss of innocence. Children forced to grow up due to unforeseen circumstances. Growing up Catholic, I was told at a very young age that almost anything was a sin. If we do commit a sinful act, we are to repent our sins through confession. As a child, when you hear everything is a sin, you become cautious as well as fearful of your actions. This growing apprehension transcended into my adolescence. During this difficult time, our bodies begin to change. We begin to explore our bodies in ways that we don’t entirely comprehend. We don’t exactly know why we get these feelings, but we know how to act on them. It was both exhilarating and shameful. I remember reading this thinking, if I believed it be a sin, then so it was.

What is the name of the book that these quotes from? Comment your answer in the comment section and I will announce the title tomorrow in my day 2 post.

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three Day Quote Challenge: Day 1

  1. Tantei M.Gin says:

    OHMYGOOOOOOOOOOOSH! V.C. Andrews! Flowers in the Attic! Yay! One point for me!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 3 Day Quote Challenge | BEXoxoBlog

Leave a Reply

