Obsession​ with Makeup

2575250403_7cff3915ca_o

When I was growing up, I was not allowed to wear makeup. I really had no interest in makeup until I was in seventh grade. It was a rule my mom devised. She believed I was not allowed to wear it until I was in eighth grade. I found my way around this rule by asking my friends to borrow the make up they stored in their locker. I’d wear it throughout the day and then I’d wash it off near the end of school. My mother never knew I had any on. This became an ongoing obsession throughout the rest of middle school years.

When I became old enough to wear makeup, I invested so much time and money into it. I’d try to buy what I could afford or I would encourage my mom to purchase what I needed. I would grow upset if she didn’t get the exact kind I wanted. I wore quite frequently. If I left the house without it, I felt naked. Each day, I would carefully apply my eyeliner; top and bottom. I would put on my favorite taupe eyeshadow with a hint of sparkle. I would use an eyelash curler in an attempt to curl my very straight eyelashes. I would apply a ridiculous amount of mascara in hopes it would make my eyelashes remain curled. With the application of makeup, finding something to wear and doing my hair, I would spend about an hour and a half, almost two, getting ready in the morning for school. Who was I trying to impress? Cute guys, my friends and popular girls. I never felt pretty enough without it.

 

10917317_10205824208228784_7454447288316969469_n

#makeup

 

In the news recently, Alicia Keys has been receiving support as well as backlash for her decision to remain makeup free. She was sick of society defining how we look and making us feel bad about ourselves. She doesn’t want to cover up anymore and has started the #nomakeup movement, which has gained quite a bit of momentum on social media. However, when Keys seen sporting no makeup at the VMAs people were upset, but they have no right to be. I support her courage for standing up for something she believes in.

The makeup is one of the key differences between Nevada and Kansas. I have seen a massive amount of made up faces whenever I am out in about. It almost makes me feel out of place. It’s something that I am not quite used to. Compared to the girls I have seen, I don’t look like I belong. My eyebrows aren’t  “on fleek.” My face is not perfectly contoured. My eyes are not smoked and my liner is not the perfect wing. My lips are not plumped with a ruby red lipstick. Why do we need all of this stuff on? It’s gotten to point where we all look the same.

My days of wearing makeup have calmed down. I rarely wear it. The last time I wore makeup was two weeks ago when I had a job interview. I feel that on a level of professionalism, makeup is required. It shows that you put effort into looking approachable. However, I believe I don’t need it anymore. Makeup does not dictate how I look. I feel better without it. I have more time for myself now since I don’t have to spend so much time worrying about getting the “perfect” look. I embrace my natural beauty in a way that makes me feel confident in my own skin.

 

6tag_020916-094308 (2)

#nomakeup

 

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Life, Memories, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Obsession​ with Makeup

  1. JStandish says:

    I wish I had the courage to be make-up free. I tried a few times, but everyone always asks me if I’m ill! I always tell myself if my skin tone was more even, or less translucent, or I didn’t have such purple veins under my eyes.

    Not even my love of sleep keeps me from my morning make-up routine :/

    Like

    • meetmeinnevada says:

      When I first started not wearing make-up, it felt like that. Everyone told me I looked tired or sick or whatever. Honestly, once people begin to see you without it becomes natural. It’s hard to explain but I hope one day you find the courage to try #nomakeup. It’s invigorating! Thanks for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Accidentally Single says:

    Don’t feel out of place for being natural. I wear makeup probably once a month. I use the basics like eye liner and a lipstick if I’m feeling bold.

    Makeup is nice but you also have to feel just as great in your own skin. Makeup shouldn’t mask insecurity.

    Like

    • meetmeinnevada says:

      Exactly and think that’s what people don’t understand about Alicia Keys no make-up movement. They are bashing her for it, but she’s confident in her own skin without it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Accidentally Single says:

        Exactly. Because that teaches a younger generation that you have to conceal every imperfection.

        Liked by 1 person

      • meetmeinnevada says:

        I’m glad you see it that way! I really don’t understand where our world became so obsessed with make-up. It’s all about the eyebrows, make-up tutorials and Sephora.

        Like

  3. agshap says:

    I started using makeup at 16 and went the whole 9 yards….foundation, liner, mascara, blush, lipstick…..when I married and became a mom of 5 – well there was no time to primp…today I forego all that, a little liner and mascara – thats it – we must all realize we are and should look real – beauty is skin deep.

    Like

Leave a Reply

