My Tunnel Song

Image result for driving through a tunnel night

Remember in Perks of Being a Wallflower when Charlie, Sam, and Patrick are driving in a broken down truck through a tunnel at night? It was equally satisfying to read as well as watch. Sam hears that unknown song that she’d been searching for. “That’s the song!” Sam climbs out of the window, stances herself carefully and puts her arms out, head back and in that moment she’s in another world. It’s a beautifully mesmerizing moment that makes you feel as if you are invincible.

I was driving through a tunnel late last night after my class was dismissed. I usually don’t like to listen to the radio because I like to create my own playlists for different occasions. Playlists are so personal, it’s as if it is a diary but in the form of a song. My favorite playlist I like to dig out is the one I entitled “Night Time Driving.” They are songs I like to listen to when I’m driving alone at night. The windows were rolled down, the hot air was blowing in my face and my destination was in my sights. One of my favorite songs came on that made me feel what Sam felt in the tunnel. I found my Tunnel Song. Roman Holiday sang by Halsey. It was the perfect melody. The most beautiful blend of music that washed your problems away. I put my arm out and let the wind carry it. I smiled. The city lights passed by in a flash. I felt like I was leaving this world and entering another. I was at peace.

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to My Tunnel Song

  1. Ahh! i love that book. I havent found a Tunnel song yet. My favorite Halsey song right now is Closer ft Chainsmokers. The album version, not the one they performed on stage.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was going to talk about all of my playlists as well, and sure enough I do have one entitled ‘Day Cruising’ and ‘Night Wandering’.

    Liked by 1 person

    • meetmeinnevada says:

      Glad I am not the only one! I am super embarrassed about my playlists. I use them as memories. They bring back a flood when you the songs have a meaning to them.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I decided to save my playlist writing for another day but believe me, I have very specific playlists for certain parts of life. They’re musical bookmarks to landmark moments.

        Liked by 1 person

      • meetmeinnevada says:

        I am glad you see it that way. They have so much meaning and it’s nice to dig them out again. I make playlists every year. Although it is cluttered, I can’t bring myself to get rid of them.

        Liked by 1 person

      • So anyone in the company who I would consider my ‘boss’ was off today for the long weekend. I decided to make an executive decision and leave work very very early. Since I am a man(vsloneliness) of my word I was listening to The Cab on my way back home on Spotify. I decided to listen to Symphony Soldier. They’re a lot of fun to listen to and they are a great example of what I consider college radio bands. New, independent, exploratory sound. Thanks for bringing these guys to my attention!

        Liked by 1 person

      • meetmeinnevada says:

        Glad I could be of service 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. 83unsungheroes says:

    Love that film! I drove through that very tunnel many times when I worked in Pittsburgh so it has other memories for me too!

    I have a tunnel album – Chase This Light by Jimmy Eat World. Driving with the roof down with that on, whether it’s summer or winter, is just perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

    • meetmeinnevada says:

      Glad you can share your tunnel song with me! I love to hear what people listen to when they need to experience another world. That’s really amazing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

