Driving in LV

5442976997_86a0283c61_o.jpg

Three things I learned driving on my own for the first time:

  1. There are some people who are assholes who cannot drive.
  2. Those said asshole people who cannot drive will let you know that you cannot drive when in fact they cannot drive.
  3. The road rules that you know and follow do not matter because no one follows them here.

I met a couple of those asshole people on my way to begin my pre-employment process which consisted of getting fingerprinted, a background check and a drug test  I had to drive to three different places to get all this done.

As I was driving down a fairly busy road, I came to a traffic stop that seemed to back up traffic. I noticed that if I pulled my car up anymore I would block the intersection, which is illegal. I stopped my car so that I wouldn’t block the intersection and so I could let a truck in. The second I stop I get a slew of angry horns blaring. The light up ahead that was congesting traffic was still red so even if I moved forward the other cars would be no closer to their destination than I was. Patience is something some people down here lack.

The assholes who cannot drive and tell you that you cannot drive love to try and talk to you at traffic stops as if you will listen. I certainly did not. As if my window not being down wasn’t a clue enough. I just gave the guy my dude-I-am-new-here-so-my-lack-of-direction-is-something-I-can’t help-so-could-you-kindly-insert-those-inconsiderate-comments-up-your-ass look. It’s obvious I don’t know what the hell I’m doing.

imagesI couldn’t tell you exactly what this asshole said to me, but from the looks of it, it wasn’t important, nor necessary. The traffic stop lasted longer than I wanted and I was more than relieved to finally drive off.

I was cut off three times. You all know what right of way means? Right? Good. Well, these assholes don’t. They think it’s okay to go whenever, which causes accidents. Nevada is notorious for accidents. Each day during the morning traffic report on the local radio stations, more often than not there is an accident or two that blocks traffic and slows drivers down. It’s funny, if people would wait their turn and not rush then accidents would be no existent during the morning commute. We all have places to be and cutting off traffic slows you down more than getting you there.

Although, I do not like my driving experience here I feel that I must stay positive about it because frustration will make matters worse. This will take some getting used to. Moral of the story, ignore assholes because you don’t need that negativity in your life. I sure don’t.

*Sorry for saying “asshole” so much, but anyone who knows me knows that I swear like a sailor especially when I’m angry.

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Driving in LV

  1. Las Vegas is my favorite spot for vacation and I go every year. At this point I just rent a car because I feel like I know the city by heart. Much like the city itself, the roads are just rampant with wild and free spirits who I think are trying to free themselves and everyone else of their mortal earthly bonds. Careful on the road and good luck with everything.

    Like

    • meetmeinnevada says:

      Thank you! I was once a visitor, now I’m a considered a local. I’m trying to mold my Kansas driving habits to fit that of Las Vegas, but to no avail. It’s completely different down here. In Kansas we have highways (two lanes) instead of freeways. We are also much more courteous when we drive and follow road rules. It’s an experience…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bysuesway says:

    I soo feel you here!!
    Some people really do drive like they are maniacs!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

