Is Clothing Getting Smaller… Or Am I Just Getting Fat?

A lot of clothing industries have come under fire for their clothing sizes being inaccurate of their portrayal of woman sizes. Clothing sizes are indeed getting smaller and it’s making girls feel that their bodies are not okay for society. Why is being “skinny” the one and only size to be?

I had a similar experience when I was doing a little shopping here in Nevada. I was not prepared for this hot weather so I was in need of a new wardrobe. I went to the mall to give myself a few options. I tried on shorts at various stores in my size 15 and I had alarmingly larger number of shorts that didn’t fit than those that actually fit.

Here are few stores that I visited today:

Ross

Ross did not have a wide selection of jeans shorts in my size so when I found one in my size I considered it a lucky find. They were a fairly short cut, dark and deep pockets. I really liked them and I looked forward to trying them on. When I pulled them up to my thighs, they got a little stuck, but I managed. I was able to get them near my hips, but I was unable to button them up. I checked the size to make sure I grabbed the right one, but of course it said 15. I didn’t want to buy a size up so I chucked them.

H&M

H&M’s sizes are fairly simple in tops: 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, and 16. I grabbed a 16 and tried them and was upset to find that I couldn’t even get them past my thighs. I stood there in complete shock because 16 was the highest size they had. I looked in the mirror as if I could use the other 90% of my brain to will them up. I tugged at them again, but they refused to move.  I peeled them off and decided that I was done looking in there.

Forever 21

Forever 21 sizes in jeans and shorts are waist sizes, which I don’t like to shop for because it confuses me. I grabbed the largest size they had, which is 36 and headed the dressing room. It was poorly lit and there was only a curtain between me and the clothes attendant that took my clothes. I felt exposed. Here goes nothing, I thought. I pulled up the shorts and they stopped halfway on my hips. I almost wanted to have a crying fit like Lisa in White Chicks had that Dr. Phil or Oprah probably couldn’t have helped. My third store and I still couldn’t find any shorts that fit me.

Dillard’s

I never shop at Dillard’s, but I was getting desperate and running out of options. I don’t like shopping here because it’s overwhelming. I can never find anything because of the amount of different types of clothes. I shop in juniors and I couldn’t find I until I was about to give up. The junior department was a small section compared to the overcrowded section of formal dresses. I find a rack with a few shorts on it and found my size. I couldn’t even get them close to my thighs. I kicked them at the mirror and left.

Charlotte Russe

Charlotte Russe had a sale on shorts. $10 for one pair, which is a steal right now. I searched the entire rack, three times I might add and found only one pair that was in my size. At least it was white pair because I don’t have any white pairs of shorts so it wasn’t a total loss. I went to the dressing room and pulled them up holding my breath. And what do you know? Those suckers fit. I was really excited to actually find a pair to fit, but it what really upset me was that I went to four stores and only one pair fit.

I have always been an average sized girl. I was a dancer growing up, for about thirteen years before I gave it up in college. I’ve always had big muscular thighs and calves with a round booty. My waist was always a tad smaller than my hips. I have been a size 15 since high school, which is the size I have always bought in shorts or jeans.

I grew up extremely self conscious of my body because I was under the impression that dancers were supposed to be thin. My friends in my dance class were thinner than I was. My sister was a size 0 and out of hate she’d call me fat. I always tried to watch what I ate, but failed unsuccessfully. I even would get up early during the weekend to go for a run. Looking back on old pictures of myself I wasn’t even fat. I was fit.

I really wish clothing stores would take into account how sizes are measured. Not everyone is the same size and it is really disheartening to go to a store to find your size and find out it doesn’t fit. I left many of these stores with the self-esteem of my adolescent self.

***Note I didn’t take any pictures because 1) the dressing rooms I went in were either poorly lit or lacked a mirror and 2) I didn’t think anything of posting about this until I got home**

 

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Life, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Is Clothing Getting Smaller… Or Am I Just Getting Fat?

  1. I had the exact same experience recently here in England ! I hate how shopping trips can really bring down your confidence sometimes, it’s awful.

    Like

    • meetmeinnevada says:

      It brought me down a couple of notches I’ll admit but at least Charlotte Russe brought it back after I actually fit a pair there lol. Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s obviously the fault of the clothes..
    You’re amazing 😃

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

