California

WP_20151208_13_32_23_Pro

Santa Monica, California

My younger sister and I have never gotten along. I could tell you more fights that we’ve had then times that we’ve actually enjoyed each other’s company. I really don’t understand why our relationship has been rocky. It could be that we are so close in age. It could be that we shared friends. It could be because of her anxiety. I really don’t know.

There was one day that I remember where we actually got along for more than 24 hours. I was on vacation for a week and my sister and I decided to take an all-day trip to California. It’s about a four hour drive from Nevada. One the drive down there we spend a lot time sharing music, which is something that she loves. Once she starts talking about music she could go on for hours.

She wanted to take me a place to eat for lunch. A place called Lemonade in LA. It was a popular place among the locals. It serves fresh green salads, pasta salads, an assortments of fruits and cafeteria foods. Many people were there to get their fix. Business men, college students on lunch break, families with their children and girls catching with their friend. I felt a little out of place, but my sister knew walked with such poise as if she’d been here her whole life. I didn’t know what to order so she ordered for me. When we received our food we ate out at the patio area. The temperature was just right. A breeze was blowing at our faces. People were casually passing by, wherever they were going I don’t know.

We engaged in idle talk about the coast, music and the shops that were near. It was the first time that we actually truly were content with each other’s company. No snide comments, side glares or eye rolls were present. It was pure bliss.

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Memories, Places and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to California

  1. APlaceWeLike says:

    California is a place where I always wanted to go. Nice post, I hope you and your sister get along now 🙂

    Like

    • meetmeinnevada says:

      It is really beautiful it’s almost unreal. Unfortunately, my sister and I aren’t on the best of terms right now. Long trips can do that, but distance makes the heart grow fonder. Our relationship is better when there is a distance between us.

      Liked by 1 person

      • APlaceWeLike says:

        That happened to my mum and I: being apart brought us together and now our relationship is stronger than ever:)

        Check out my blog if you like, I’d love to have some feedback from you! https://aplacewelike.com/

        Liked by 1 person

      • meetmeinnevada says:

        Sorry for taking so long to answer! I was looking at your blog earlier and though it’s such a wonderful idea. Spreading cultural awareness is one thing as the human race we need to work on. We need to stop being ethnocentric and broaden our horizons. I will be reading one.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Aw! I love Lemonade!!! I miss it so much! Glad you were able to have a good time in California! Next time, if you didn’t this trip, you’ll have to visit Santa Monica! A beautiful little beach town with a great shopping promenade and pier!

    Liked by 1 person

    • meetmeinnevada says:

      We actually did visit the pier after we were done with Lemonade. We walked the pier a few times and saw a shark. It was really fun. I can’t wait to go back.

      Like

Leave a Reply

