5 Simple Luxuries I Never Thought I Would Take for Granted

In my move to Nevada I had to leave many of my possessions behind. I was trying to move down here efficiently and cheaply, which meant I could only take necessities. I wanted to start over and what better way to start over then to get rid of everything and only take what I need. These are some simple things I would never consider a luxury, until I didn’t have them in my grasp.

 

WP_20160808_18_41_57_Pro.jpg

A comfy place — my bed

1. A Bed

I didn’t take my bed with me when I moved. In fact, I didn’t take any furniture with me. I’ve resorted to sleeping on the floor with bed of blankets and a few pillows. It makes me think of the movie The Blind Side. It’s about the life of Michael Oher, the NFL football player who was taken in by a family. There was a particular scene in the movie where he is given a room to himself, He says, “I’ve never had one before?” Sandra Bullock who plays Leigh Anne Tuohy’s character says, “What? A room to yourself?” He looks at the bed affectionately and says, “A bed.”

 

604005_10201017619307065_222439334_n[1]

My second car — named her Indy

2. A Car

I walked home from school every day from the time I was in 5th grade until I was senior in high school. It made me humble. I bought my first car my senior year. The thirty minute walk to school was now a five minute drive. I used my car for everything. Going to school, going to work, going to a friend’s house and many other means. I relied on my car so much that I don’t know what I did when I was without it. I always have to ask myself, “What did you do before you had a car?”

 

10151128_10203751429970623_3921216375555754725_n[1]

Zoo Trip

3. A Job

I loved my job back in my hometown. However, I am not going to disclose exactly what I did, but it is something that I hope will jumpstart my career. I started from the bottom and worked my up. I met the right people, I made a lot of good impressions and I never took no for an answer. I was determined to make it my field. I was upset that I had to leave because I had come such a long way from working at a local fast food chain. I am very careful with my spending since I have no source of income coming in.

 

164295_10201007605176718_212239703_n[1]

Right to left: Me, my aunt and my sister

4. Family

My family is a mess. I have a mom’s side of the family and then I have a grandma’s and grandpa’s side of the family. I guess you could say I have a step-grandma and step-cousins. I’ve always been close to my mom’s side of the family, that being my aunt and my grandma. I used to see them every week. We would go on outings together like to the park, the movies or events. I remember when my aunt took my to a backyard BBQ with a live band that played 80’s music. They have helped me through some troubling times and not having them here with me makes my heart ache.

 

923131_10201157558245451_1515592135_n[1] (2)

Friendship tattoos with best friends

5. Friends

I couldn’t take my friends with me, of course. I promised I would come back and visit. I wouldn’t forget my friends because of everything they have done for me. I used to go out with my friends a few times a week or I would go visit them. My friends were okay with just staying at home to watch movies. It wasn’t hard to please them. Due to the time change, I can only talk to my friends at certain times of the day. There are days where I wish I could see them. I know with FaceTime, you can talk to people instantly. It’s not the same. I need to see them and have them with me.

 

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Life, Lists and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 5 Simple Luxuries I Never Thought I Would Take for Granted

  1. Lisa Yip says:

    This is a great piece! How are you settling in Nevada? I love those cute tattoos from you and your friends 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: SUNSHINE BLOGGER AWARD! | Meet Me in Nevada

Leave a Reply

