A New Experience

I’ve been spending a lot of time at home due to the fact that I have yet to find a job. During my spare time I like to watch movies. I’ll spend hours browsing my various streaming services until I find something that I have not seen before. Recently I have watched the movie Room with Brie Larson who plays a woman named Joy. For those who have not seen or heard of the movie, it’s an Oscar winning movie about a woman and child who are held captive in the confines of a shed called Room. The day they escape the try to live normal lives by navigating what to them seems like a foreign place. If you haven’t seen it, you must see it! When I watch movies sometimes something a character says will stick with me. One that particularly stuck with me was when her son Jack, played by Jacob Tremblay said, “Ma and I have decided that since we don’t know what we like, we get try everything.” He was referring to them trying different things and being open to new experiences.

The reason I am bringing this is up is because I feel that I can relate to the character Joy. I’m not saying that I was abducted and held captive, but I understand how anxious she must feel in place that is feels very foreign to her. Kansas was my Room. I was used it’s familiarity and sameness; it’s all I knew. I was aware there was other places out there, but yet to venture to them. Kansas was the place I always called home. Since leaving my hometown, I have felt such culture shock. Nevada is an entirely different place from Kansas.

I was out shopping today for some key necessities. It grew later, until I realized that it was time for lunch and I hadn’t eaten anything yet. What do I want to eat? I don’t know. The amount of food places that are offered here is overwhelming. We didn’t have quite so many places in Kansas. I would only eat at the places that are familiar to me. Then I remember the movie Room. I don’t know what I like yet, so I must try everything. I have to allow myself to be open to new experiences. Today I decided to try Jack in the Box. There aren’t any in Kansas, but I have heard of them before. It was a good choice, safe I must admit. I’m a big burger fan and I decided that in order for me to get out of my comfort zone I would have to try something familiar to me at another place. It was a step in the right direction. Before I can begin to explore the new place I call home I have to slowly dip my toe in the water before jumping in head first.      

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

