My Strength of Writing

I’ve been spending some quality time in my thoughts. They can be positive or negative, but the direction they have been taking these days is leaning more towards the positive side. It’s been difficult to shut them down at night. The reason I have been spending so much time with my thoughts is that I have yet to find a job in Nevada.

I had interview for a potential job at the beginning of this week. The employer will remain nameless to respect my affiliation with the company in the event of being hired. I sat in front of two people who interchangeably asked me questions about myself, my background and experience.

What are your strengths,” one of my interviewers asked.

Employers only want to hear your strengths, but what about your weaknesses? To answer their question I said, “I actually was diagnosed with a learning disability in math, but to compensate for my weakness I use my strength of writing and reading. It helps if I write down the steps and read directions until I understand it.” Without my strength I wouldn’t be able to overcome my weakness.

I write because it’s my strength. I showcase it through my blog posts, short stories, essays, and journal entries. My weakness may bring me down, but if it weren’t for my strength of writing I would have given up altogether.      

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Strength of Writing

  1. crystalamay says:

    My question is the same,humans are not perfect then why the interviewers only needs know ur strenght and by mistake if thet find out your negatives,you are regected,I should give people a chance to learn:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great answer ! I hope you get the job 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “Without my strength I wouldn’t be able to overcome my weakness.” What a great way to find positivity through the struggle! I think it’s wonderful that you know yourself so well. Good luck through this move, and I wish you all the best!
    ~Gloria

    Like

  4. Pingback: Praise to the Gods of Employment | Meet Me in Nevada

Leave a Reply

