A Hell of a Zip Code

As silly as it sounds the one thing that used bother people about my hometown in Kansas is the zip code. The first three digits are 666. I remember when I went to visit Nevada on vacation last summer. I was shopping with my sister at the Fashion Show mall near the Strip. She decided to stop at a new store that I had never heard of, but she insisted I’d like. I love going to new stores because when you shop out of your comfort zone you find your style. Usually when you go to a new store and you purchase something, the cashier usually asks for your zip code so they can send you special offers in the mail. As the cashier was ringing up my items and bagging them he asked the dreaded question:

“What is your zip code?”

666**” I’d say.

The cashier’s eyes grew wide and he nervously stuttered, “Where do you live?”

“Kansas.” I’d say amused.

“With a zip code like that I wouldn’t want to live there.”

 

The joke around my hometown is that it’s literally hell on Earth. But is it? Is it really? I believe it isn’t, but those who have had horrible experiences living in my hometown believe it to be. It’s far from it. Kansas just happened to get the shit end of the stick of zip codes. On the other hand if you believe it to be hell on Earth, the urban legend in my hometown is that a small town has a cemetery with a set of stairs that no one knows where they lead. People believe that is one of the entrances to hell that resides in Kansas. Like I said, if you believe.

By habit I still find my self saying or even writing 666** when I am asked to present my zip code. However, I actually prefer to write or say my new zip code in Nevada. It looks neater and flows better like a nonsensical number pattern. If you ask me, Nevada should have the zip code 666, partly because that is where Sin City resides and every knows where you go when you sin.

 

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Hell of a Zip Code

  1. 😂😂😂 I loved the cashier’s reaction!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

