Hail Storm

I’m sitting here tonight alone with the lights flickering and the storm announcing it’s arrival outside. The thunder sounds strange here like a bunch of folding metal chairs being dropped on a concrete floor and the lightening flashes remind me of a flashbulb camera taking a burst of photos. I can hear the raining pattering on the concrete as well and as it strikes the windowsill. Storm sound different in Nevada. The heavy rain sounds remind me of the hail back in Kansas. I keep glancing outside to see if what I am hearing is in fact hail, but I’m greeted with fat water droplets torpedoing towards the ground. They don’t absorb into the ground like Kansas, they droplets begin to collect into small pool.

Hail was a common occurrence in Kansas. No matter the season. I remember last month when I went to visit a friend. She’s the kind of friend that you don’t have to see everyday and when you do see her it’s as if you talked yesterday. Her mom asked us to go pick up some dinner before the storm starts so that we could watch a movie and wait out the storm. You could see it in the air. Thick heavy clouds were billowing in and the wind was beginning to pick up speed. It was middle of the summer and the temperature was dropping to the low sixties. We rushed our errand so that we could race home. Just as we were turning into the driveway, the rain started. It was as if a bucket was being poured over the car. We couldn’t see a thing in front of us. It kept coming down violently and then a few moments later it just stopped. We thought we were safe as we began to gather our things. We had all our stuff in hand prepared to leave, but then the hail started. Hail the size of marbles was raining down, pinging off the car and onto the ground. It continued to fall gradually growing bigger as it fell down. It sounded like rocks being thrown at the car.

Ten minutes had past and we began to accept the fact that we weren’t getting out of the car anytime soon. We decided to make small talk to distract us from what was going on outside.

“Do you ever think that there is something more?”

“Where would I be?”

“I’ve never told anyone this.”

“I wish he would understand how frustrated he makes me.”

“What should I say?”

“How do you know that it’s love?”

“What if I told you I’m scared?”

“You’re the only person I could tell these things.”

These small talks are easily forgotten, but they have such significance. The hail storm brought us closer together.

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Memories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

