Deferring

College has been an important aspect of my life. I would say it has consumed my life entirely. Therefore, the decision to defer is a  difficult task. Lots of people defer I’ve heard. Even Malia Obama is deferring. Those who do are mainly recent high school graduates who are unsure if college is right for them, but typically decisions vary person to person. Deferring isn’t always a negative concept as people make it out to be.

For me, I would be deferring a semester because I don’t have reliable transportation. It sounds stupid because many people who defer have usually have a reason to put off college. For some people it may be difficult to understand, but getting a car is not as easy as it seems. In order for me to get a respectable car I need to get a car loan, in order for me to get a car loan I need to get a steady job, in order for me to have a job employers need to contact me about the positions I applied for and it just keeps snowballing from there. Coming to Nevada without a job wasn’t very smart, but I have been putting in the effort to find one. The plan wasn’t to go to Nevada jobless. I started looking before I even moved out here, but my luck, I haven’t been offered one. I haven’t given up my pursuit.

I had such high hopes when I visited my new school today. I was going to finalize my schedule to get an idea of how I was going to start the semester. I only have nineteen classes left until I finish. Nineteen. It seems like a lot, but it’s not. That’s four semesters. When I received my schedule I was excited to see all the courses I would be taking. Then I received an email. It was from a potential employer. Could this day get any better? They gave me a start date and what hours I would be working if I were accepted for the position. I wasn’t entirely sure how I was going to make this work, which is why I am contemplating the idea of deferring a semester.

I believe deferring would put me so far behind. I should have graduated this year from the college in hometown. I screwed up my freshman year. I did what I could to make up for it until I couldn’t even get into my own program of study. I watched all my friends surpass me as they completed all their required courses while I was left behind. I watched them all walk across the stage and receive their diploma. I thought to myself, that could have been me. I felt like I was serving life instead of a four year sentence. I need to finish what I started and I can’t do that if I defer. Deferring may be for unsure high school graduates, but I don’t think deferring is for me.     

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in College and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

