Grocery Shopping

I’ve spent quite few days exploring the city I now call home. Back in Kansas there was a few well known places to shop, but here in Nevada there are many options that it’s almost unbelievable. The first few days down here I stayed mainly near places that I am familiar with such as the Walmart, Target and Dillon’s (in Nevada it’s called Smith’s). However,  felt that I needed to explore and expand my options.

Today I found that I really like the store Sprouts. I have never really heard of it before until now. It has such an exquisite selection of produce, pantry foods and other wholesome and organic options. I grabbed a little bit of everything to try. As the cashier was ringing everything up, I noticed that the price displayed upon the screen didn’t show the tax. Even after she had totaled everything in. I asked the woman why there wasn’t any tax on the groceries. She told me that in the state of Nevada there is not a tax on groceries. That’s another key difference here in Nevada. Groceries are taxed in Kansas.

Back in Kansas, I always remember going to the grocery store with a list of the items that I needed because if I were to stray from the list could be costly. I always walked through each aisle with my list, pencil in hand, checking off every items and calculating how much I’ve spent. I think the most frustrating thing about grocery shopping back in Kansas was configuring how much you would spend and then figuring how much tax would be once you had made your selection. It was exhausting. It’s a relief that I don’t have to do that here.

What I love the most about living here is that I can go to the store and not see someone I know. Back in Kansas, you can’t go anywhere without seeing someone you know. The capital city of Kansas isn’t a small town, but it is small because everyone is connected to someone in some way or another. It can be either by relation or association. Going to the store was always something most would dread because of how inevitable it is to run into someone you know. Most of the people I run into are the ones that you went to high school with and are somehow friends with on Facebook. No one really moved away or out of the city for that matter so going to the store or anywhere was like a mini high school reunion.

Is it rude if I don’t want to talk to them? Is it rude that if I see them down the aisle that I turn the other way? It’s not that I don’t want to see them, it’s just that I like to keep to myself. No matter who I run into it’s like they no more about me than I do myself and it gives them an excuse to try to one up my life by telling me how “great” theirs is. I always smile politely and nod until the conversation turns on a dead end. I hesitantly blurt, it was nice seeing you, even though I know good and well that I really didn’t want to. It’s not that I think that I am better than them, I just hate that when were in high school they never talked to me or were even nice to me. Why start now?

There is just something about going grocery shopping and no one recognizing you. Everyone is a stranger.I get an occasional smile or a nod from them, but it’s nice to not be known. It’s as if I really started over.

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grocery Shopping

  1. I can totally relate to this post! If you weren’t friends at school, why would they expect you to be friends afterwards? It’s a crazy world we live in!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

