Time Zones

Adjusting to the time zone of Nevada from Kansas is going to be a feat. Kansas is two whole hours ahead of Nevada.

I fell asleep today at 2:30 PM pacific time. I got woken up by a phone call from one of my good friends, Keke back in Kansas. “Was you asleep?” she said. I groggily managed to say yes, but she immediately cut me off and said, “You better wake the fuck up! What time is it there?”

“3:30.”

“Get up!”

Falling asleep during the day doesn’t bother me all that much right now considering I’m not working quite yet. Right now, the struggle is trying to get up in the morning. Like I said before, Nevada is two whole hours ahead of Kansas. Two hours. My mom said that I have to train my body to get up at 7:00 so that it’s not so hard for me when I start working. It’s difficult now. I set two alarms for 7:00 am every morning; the alarm on my phone and the alarm on my Fitbit. Of course I hear them, but do I get up? No. I sleep right on until about 9:00 am. My circadian rhythm is all out of whack.

My sleeping problems are not the only thing out of whack, my eating habits are as well.I feel like my stomach is being inconsiderate by growling at different times of the day. I can’t control it. I wake up starved. I eat a small breakfast in the morning and then about a few hours later around 10 am I’m hungry again. It’s 10:00 am in Nevada and it’s noon in Kansas. Depending on the circumstances I either ignore my stomach or give into temptation and indulge. That calms me for a while and then by the time lunch nears, I’m not even hungry. I don’t think about food about until about 4:00 pm here when in fact it’s actually dinnertime in Kansas. The only thing that gets me through is having a small snack. I’m not hungry again until about 7:00 pm here.

Right now it’s 7:00 pm. And of course, I’m hungry. Better find something to eat.

 

About meetmeinnevada

A Kansas girl trying to navigate the changes of the big city of Las Vegas, Nevada by talking about life, thoughts, and relationships.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

